

105H, ABNR Building, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO 65211-7230 Email: nasorlo@embargmail.com Phone: 573-353-2702 Fax: 573-882-9526

Dear NASORLO member:

Welcome to Austin Texas, the flower of the SW, for the 44th annual NASORLO annual meeting. I would like to thank Tim Hogsett, his staff and the great folks at the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for hosting this important event. We have an aggressive agenda to accomplish over the next 2 days and the importance of this meeting cannot be over emphasized.

We are at a critical precipice in relation to the State Assistance Program of the LWCF and in advocacy on behalf of our states and local governments. With the budget issues ongoing in Congress, there is no better time for NASORLO to work with our partners to promote the benefits and values of outdoor recreation grants and be the best advocates for the 45+ year partnership between the federal government and the states to provide for our nation's outdoor recreation needs.

We also want to start the dialogue and prepare to celebrate, in partnership with the National Park Service, the 50th Anniversary of this great program. NASORLO hopes this national focus will give us a visible platform to discuss with key decision makers and the public, the multiple values and benefits of this program, it lasting legacy and what the future could be.

We hope you have an excellent conference and leave here with a clear understanding of the challenges we face and the commitments needed to maintain the original intent of the LWCF Act. In addition, we need to have a consensus with the membership and our partners to identify and facilitate any changes needed during the reauthorization/rewrite over the next two years.

So welcome again to Austin and NASORLO's 2012 Annual Meeting. We look forward to your participation and support as we seek to improve our efforts as one of the primary state advocates for our industry.

Sincerely,

Domenic Bravo Administrator

Wyoming State Parks Historic Sites and Trails

President, SLO NASORLO

President
Domenic Bravo
Wyoming
Vice President
David Johnson
Virginia
Secretary
Rob Grant
Alabama
Past President

Texas
Exec. Director
Doug Eiken
Missouri

Tim Hogsett

Board of Directors

Becky Kelley Georgia Jay Zieman Arizona Chas Van Genderen Montana Dan Schuler Wisconsin Susan Moershel Delaware Nancy Merrill Idaho Cindy Adams Dunn Pennsylvania Steve DeBrabander Michigan Daniel Galan Kercado Puerto Rico Bill Bryan Missouri Linda Lanterman Kansas Sedrick Mitchell

California